E Numbers That Aren’t Suitable for Vegetarians or Vegans

Hi all! I’ve found it really difficult to find sources that contain RELIABLE information on ALL e numbers added to food. There’s so many additives that could possibly be derived from animals but a lot of the information I’ve found is very conflicting. With that in mind, I thought I’d put together a rough list on what I’ve collated so far. This is mainly to provide information for those following a vegetarian or vegan diet (to prevent hours of searching the internet) but I’m also open to any suggestions/amendments or to be signposted in the right direction (I’ve contacted Food Standards Agency but they don’t actually provide this information on all e numbers). I really want to put together something reliable where people can find accurate information on the additives in their food so please feel free to comment below.

e1000 – Cholic Acid (Emulsifier)Normal component of the bile of all vertebrates. Extracted from the bile of cows, but can also be produced synthetically.
e101 – Riboflavin The VRG conservatively classified niacin and riboflavin as “typically vegan” because of the possibility that these vitamins, widely found in animal products such as milk, organ meats and eggs, could be derived from animal sources in rare cases: https://www.vrg.org/blog/2012/01/19/riboflavin-vitamin-b-2-and-niacin-vitamin-b-3-typically-vegan/
e104 – Quinoline Yellow not derived from animal sources themselves but may involve the use of gelatine as a carrier.
e120 – Cochineal/Carmines/Carminic Acid/crimson lake/natural red 4 The pigment is produced by drying, crushing, and then boiling the bodies of cochineal beetles to extract carminic acid.
e1517 – Glyceryl diacetate (diacetin)commercially prepared from acetic acid and glycerol (e422)
e1518 – Glyceryl triacetate; triacetincommercially prepared from acetic acid and glycerol (e422)
e153 – Vegetable carboncan be obtained from various sources including activated charcoal, bones, meat, blood, various fats oils and resins or just the incomplete combustion of natural gas, it is normally derived from burnt vegetable matter.
e160d – Lycopenefound in tomatoes and other red fruits and vegetables, such as red carrots, watermelons, gac, and papayas. gelatne carrier?
e160e – Beta-apo-8′-carotenal (C30)An orange to red colour, normally synthetic when used as a food colour, although it occurs naturally in oranges and tangerines. Gelatine Carrier?
e161g – Canthaxanthincommercially prepared from mushrooms/flamingo feathers, mainly produced synthetically from carotene.
e161j – AstaxathinThe primary natural sources for industrial production of astaxanthin comprise the following:

Euphausia pacifica (Pacific krill)
Euphausia superba (Antarctic krill)
Haematococcus pluvialis (algae)
Pandalus borealis (Arctic shrimp)
Xanthophyllomyces dendrorhous, formerly Phaffia rhodozyma (yeast)
e170 – Calcium carbonateA natural colour found as chalk, limestone, marble, dolomite, eggshells, and the shells of many marine animals.
e234 – NisinPreservative – Nisin is a natural antimicrobial agent, derived from controlled fermentation of the naturally occurring bacteria Streptococcus lactis, found in milk.
e252 – Potassium nitrateMay be derived from waste animal or vegetable matter.
e270 – Lactic acidall fermented products (dairy and non-dairy) contain this as a result of bacterial fermentation. Commercially produced by bacterial fermentation on starch and molasses. https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=728 Typically derived from plants such as beets. When animal-derived, found in blood and muscle tissue. Also in sour milk, beer, sauerkraut, pickles, and other food products made by bacterial fermentation. Used in skin fresheners, as a preservative, in the formation of plasticizers, etc. Alternatives: plant milk sugars, synthetics. https://www.peta.org/living/food/animal-ingredients-list/
e1105 – Lysozymefrom chicken eggs
e304 – Ascorbyl palmitatepossibility that the palmitic acid used is obtained from animal fat, although the main source is vegetable fat. http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e304.htm
e322 – LecithinsLecithin, commercially isolated (mainly) from soybeans or egg yolk (may be made from caged hens). https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=728
e325 – Sodium lactatesodium salts of lactic acid (e270)
e326 – Potassium lactatepotassium salts of lactic acid (e270)
e327 – Calcium lactatecalcium salts of lactic acid (e270)
e328 – ammonium lactateammonium salts of lactic acid (e270)
e329 – magnesium lactatemagnesium salts of lactic acid (e270)
e341 – Calcium phosphates(Monobasic, Dibasic and Tribasic) a mineral salt found in rocks and bones. Used as an anti-caking agent in cosmetics and food, mineral supplement, abrasive in toothpaste and jelling agent. Also known as calcium rock. http://www.veganpeace.com/ingredients/ingredients.htm
e422 – Glycerolcan be extracted from plant or animal fats : https://www.veganfirst.com/article/qa-is-glycerin-vegan
e430 – Polyoxyethylene (8) stearatecontain fatty acids, which are nearly always from vegetable oils; however, use of animal fat (including pork) cannot be fully ruled out. http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e430.htm,
e431 – Polyoxyethylene (40) stearatecontain fatty acids which are mostly obtained from vegetable oils, however, there is the possibility that animal fats may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=728
e432 – Polyoxyethylene sorbitan monolaurate; Polysorbate
20
contain fatty acids which are mostly obtained from vegetable oils, however, there is the possibility that animal fats may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=729
e433 – Polyoxyethylene sorbitan mono-oleate; Polysorbate
80
contain fatty acids which are mostly obtained from vegetable oils, however, there is the possibility that animal fats may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=730
e434 – Polyoxyethylene sorbitan monopalmitate;
Polysorbate 40
contain fatty acids which are mostly obtained from vegetable oils, however, there is the possibility that animal fats may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=731
e435 – Polyoxyethylene sorbitan monostearate;
Polysorbate 60
contain fatty acids which are mostly obtained from vegetable oils, however, there is the possibility that animal fats may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=732
e436 – Polyoxyethylene sorbitan tristearate; Polysorbate 65contain fatty acids which are mostly obtained from vegetable oils, however, there is the possibility that animal fats may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=733
e441 – gelatineObtained from animal by-products, such as bones and hides. It can be produced from all species of animals.
e442 – Ammonium phosphatidesE442 is generally produced with rapeseed oil and can thus be consumed by all religious groups. However, the use of animal fat (incl. pork) can not be completed excluded. http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e442.htm, https://www.quora.com/Is-E442-and-E476-halal, https://noshly.com/additive/e442/emulsifier/442/#.XG0wmZP7TOQ
e469 – Enzymatically hydrolysed carboxy methyl cellulosecant find enough info so leaving.
e470a – Sodium, potassium and calcium salts of fatty acidsSalts of fatty acids that may be of animal origin, https://simplifyvegan.com.au/additives/?cat=Emulsifier%2FStabilisers
e470b – Magnesium salts of fatty acidsSalts of fatty acids that may be of animal origin, https://simplifyvegan.com.au/additives/?cat=Emulsifier%2FStabilisers
e471 – Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acidsproduced from glycerol and natural fatty acids, derived mainly from plant origin, but animal fats may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=733
e472 – related to the mono- and diglycerides of fatty acidsproduced from glycerol, natural fatty acids and another organic acid (acetic, lactic, tartaric, citric). The fats are obtained mainly from plant origin, but animal fats may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=733
e472a – Acetic acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty
acids
produced from glycerol, natural fatty acids and another organic acid (acetic, lactic, tartaric, citric). The fats are obtained mainly from plant origin, but animal fats may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=734
e472b – Lactic acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty
acids
produced from glycerol, natural fatty acids and another organic acid (acetic, lactic, tartaric, citric). The fats are obtained mainly from plant origin, but animal fats may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=735
e472c – Citric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty
acids
produced from glycerol, natural fatty acids and another organic acid (acetic, lactic, tartaric, citric). The fats are obtained mainly from plant origin, but animal fats may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=736
e472d – Tartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides
of fatty acids
produced from glycerol, natural fatty acids and another organic acid (acetic, lactic, tartaric, citric). The fats are obtained mainly from plant origin, but animal fats may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=737
e472e – Mono- and diacetyltartaric acid esters of monoand diglycerides of fatty acidsproduced from glycerol, natural fatty acids and another organic acid (acetic, lactic, tartaric, citric). The fats are obtained mainly from plant origin, but animal fats may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=738
e472f – Mixed acetic and tartaric acid esters of monoand diglycerides of fatty acidsproduced from glycerol, natural fatty acids and another organic acid (acetic, lactic, tartaric, citric). The fats are obtained mainly from plant origin, but animal fats may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=739
e473 – Sucrose esters of fatty acidsproduced from glycerol and natural fatty acids. The fats are obtained mainly from plant origin, but animal fats may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=739
e474 – Sucroglyceridesesters of sugar and fats, produced from sugar and natural fats. The fats are obtained mainly from plant origin, but animal fats may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=739
e475 – Polyglycerol esters of fatty acidsa combination of polyglycerol and natural fats. Normal fat consists of glycerol and fatty acids, for these products additional glycerol is coupled to the normal glycerol. Combination of polyglycerol and natural fats. The fats are obtained mainly from plant origin, but animal fats may be used.
e477 – Propane-1,2-diol esters of fatty acidsCombination of propanediol and fat which may be of animal origin https://simplifyvegan.com.au/additives/?cat=Emulsifier%2FStabilisers; http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e477.htm
e478 – Lactylated fatty acid esters of glycerol and propylene glycolFrom fats that may be of animal origin. https://simplifyvegan.com.au/additives/?cat=Emulsifier%2FStabilisers
e479 – Esterified Soy Oilproduced by heating soy-oil in the presence of free fatty acids. The fatty acids are mainly from plant origin, but fats of animal origin may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e479b – Thermally oxidised soya bean oil interacted with
mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids
Esterified Soy Oil, produced by heating soy-oil in the presence of free fatty acids. The fatty acids are mainly from plant origin, but fats of animal origin may be used. https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e481 – Sodium stearoyl-2-lactylateombination of stearic acid and lactic acid, resulting in a mixture of several components. Stearic acid can be derived from both plant and animal fats. https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e482 – Calcium stearoyl-2-lactylatecombination of calcium, stearic acid and lactic acid, resulting in a mixture of several components. The origin of stearic acid can be either plant or animal fat. https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e483 – Stearyl tartratecombination of stearic acid and tartaric acid, the origin of stearic acid can be from plant or animal fats. https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e484 – stearyl citratecombination of stearic acid and citric acid, the origin of stearic acid can be from plant or animal fats. https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e491 – Sorbitan monostearateproduced from sorbitol and varying acids, these are normal fatty acids derived from vegetable or animal origin. https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e492 – Sorbitan tristearateproduced from sorbitol and varying acids, these are normal fatty acids derived from vegetable or animal origin. https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e493 – Sorbitan tristearateproduced from sorbitol and varying acids, these are normal fatty acids derived from vegetable or animal origin. https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e494 – Sorbitan monooleateproduced from sorbitol and varying acids, these are normal fatty acids derived from vegetable or animal origin. https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e495 – Sorbitan monopalmitateproduced from sorbitol and varying acids, these are normal fatty acids derived from vegetable or animal origin. https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e542 – Edible Bone Phosphatefrom animal bones. https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e570 – stearic acid stearic acid and stearates are commercially obtained from plant sources, the use of animal fat (including pork and beef) can not be excluded.
e572 – Magnesium stearatestearic acid and stearates are commercially obtained from plant sources, the use of animal fat (including pork and beef) can not be excluded.
e573 – Aluminium stearatestearic acid and stearates are commercially obtained from plant sources, the use of animal fat (including pork and beef) can not be excluded.
e585 – Ferrous lactatederived from the direct action of lactic acid on iron fillings or from the interaction of calcium lactate with ferrous sulfate. – http://www.veganpeace.com/ingredients/ingredients.htm
e626 – Guanylic acidGuanylates are generally produced from meat, but partly also from fish. They are thus not suitable for vegans and vegetarians, and in most cases not suitable for Jews, Muslims and Hindus, depending on the origin of the product. http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e635.htm
e627 – Disodium guanylateGuanylates are generally produced from meat, but partly also from fish. They are thus not suitable for vegans and vegetarians, and in most cases not suitable for Jews, Muslims and Hindus, depending on the origin of the product. http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e635.htm
e628 – Dipotassium guanylateGuanylates are generally produced from meat, but partly also from fish. They are thus not suitable for vegans and vegetarians, and in most cases not suitable for Jews, Muslims and Hindus, depending on the origin of the product. http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e635.htm
e629 – Calcium guanylateGuanylates are generally produced from meat, but partly also from fish. They are thus not suitable for vegans and vegetarians, and in most cases not suitable for Jews, Muslims and Hindus, depending on the origin of the product. http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e635.htm
e630 lnosinic acidInosinates are generally produced from meat, but partly also from fish. They are thus not suitable for vegans and vegetarians, and in most cases not suitable for Jews, Muslims and Hindus, depending on the origin of the product. http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e635.htm
e631 – Disodium inosinateSodium salt of inosinic acid, a natural acid mainly present in animals. It is commercially prepared from meat/fish but may also be produced by bacterial fermentation of sugars. https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e632 – Dipotassium inosinatePotassium salt of inosinic acid (E630), a natural acid, that is mainly present in animals. Commercially prepared from meat or fish (sardines). May also be produced by bacterial fermentation of sugars. http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e632.htm
e633 – Calcium inosinateCalcium salt of inosinic acid (E630), a natural acid, that is mainly present in animals. Commercially prepared from meat or fish (sardines). May also be produced by bacterial fermentation of sugars. http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e633.htm
e634 – Calcium 5′-ribonucleotidesMixture of calcium salts of guanylic (E626) and inosinic acid (E630). http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e634.htm
e635 – Disodium 5′-ribonucleotidesMixture of sodium salts of guanylic (E626) and inosinic acid (E630). http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e635.htm
e636 – maltolMaltol is generally produced from bark or malt. Sometimes lactose (from cow’s milk) is used. It should thus be avoided by vegans. It does not contain lactose and can be used by lactose-intolerant people. http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e637.htm
e637 – ethylmaltolEthylmaltol is generally produced from bark or malt. Sometimes lactose (from cow’s milk) is used. It should thus be avoided by vegans. It does not contain lactose and can be used by lactose-intolerant people. http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e637.htm
e640 – Glycine originally isolated from gelatine but can be prepared synthetically. https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e901 – Beeswax, white and yellowmade by bees but does not contain insects https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e904 – Shellacnatural polymer derived from lac beetles https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e910 – L-cysteinederived from hair, both human and animal, or feathers. (still vegetarian but not vegan) . https://www.vrg.org/blog/2018/05/04/update-on-vegan-l-cysteine-what-does-vegetable-l-cysteine-mean/
e913 – Lanolina wax from sheep excreted by the skin of sheep and extracted from the wool https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e920 – L-cysteine hydrochloridederived from hair, both human and animal, or feathers. (still vegetarian but not vegan) . https://www.vrg.org/blog/2018/05/04/update-on-vegan-l-cysteine-what-does-vegetable-l-cysteine-mean/
e921 – L-cysteine hydrochloride monohydratederived from hair, both human and animal, or feathers. (still vegetarian but not vegan) . https://www.vrg.org/blog/2018/05/04/update-on-vegan-l-cysteine-what-does-vegetable-l-cysteine-mean/
e966 – Lactitolmade from milk sugar https://www.vegsoc.org/Enumbers
e415 – Xanthan Gumproduced by the fermentation of corn sugar. Often vegan, but can be purified by using chicken lysozyme or derived from the fermentation https://simplifyvegan.com.au/market/xanthan-gum-e415/ https://www.veganeasy.org/food/food-additives/
e129 – FD&C Red 40, Allura Red ACDerived from either coal tar or petroleum. It is not derived from insects. Red 40 does not contain any animal derivatives, https://veganfoodlover.com/red-40-vegan/
e102 – FD&C Yellow 5, Tartrazine, Acid Yellow 23, Food Yellow 4, and trisodium 1–4–5-pyrazolone-3-carboxylate.Synthetic azo dye, primarily used as a food coloring. Derived from coal tar. http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e102.htm
e132 – FD&C Blue 2, Indogotine, Indigo carmine A synthetic dye derived from coal tar.
e133 – FD&C Blue 1, Brilliant Blue FCFA synthetic dye derived from coal tar.
e110 – FD&C Yellow 6, Monoazo, Sunset Yellow FCF, Orange Yellow S, FD&C Yellow 6, Monoazo Derived from coal tar,A synthetic dye derived from coal tar.
e476 – Polyglycerol polyricinoleateFrom polyglycerol and castor oil (tree origins) . can be of animal origin. https://simplifyvegan.com.au/additives/?cat=Emulsifier%2FStabilisers; http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e476.htm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s